Here's what guests and reviewers have to say about the Como Lake Bed & Breakfast.

 

5 Star Rating

Gail G

1 review

“We've always wanted to stay at Como Lake B and B. We weren't disappointed!”

My boyfriend and I had often talked of planning an overnight stay here so in celebration of his 55th birthday, I planned a surprise stay for the two of us. The location was perfect for the day I had planned. It was close to everything: the Minneapolis Institute of Art, Wuollet's Bakery (their cupcakes are AMAZING!), and Hell's Kitchen for dinner.

From start to finish, our stay at Como Lake B and B was everything we had hoped for; the accommodations were cozy and comfortable; Carla was warm and

welcoming. We especially loved Lenny (the official puppy dog greeter!

We stayed in the Aerie Suite and were delighted with the privacy it afforded us along with the views from the windows and skylights.

Nothing says romance better than a jacuzzi tub, a bottle of champagne, and being able to see the stars through the skylight.

Thank you for opening your home, Carla. We'll definitely be back.

 

 

Tim K

Long Prairie, Minnesota: Level  Contributor

69 reviews

11 hotel reviews

10 helpful votes

“Great service, lovely location”

Reviewed October 2, 2016

We spent one night here in the Lake view Room. The room is nice but small with a nice unshared bathroom across the hall. The house itself is cozy and attractive and looks like a nice place to chill out. The breakfast was good. What really made this place stand out was the flexibility and helpfulness of the staff. They are fantastic and we can't say enough about them. If you're going to be there awhile beautiful Como Lake and Park are right across the street.

 

 

ZooTownTraveler

Montana: Level  Contributor

12 reviews

4 hotel reviews

7 helpful votes

“Lovely stay in a lovely place”

Reviewed June 27, 2016

I just returned from the great city of St. Paul that was made even better by staying at Como Lake B&B. Carla, the owner, was a gracious hostess, providing a welcoming atmosphere, delicious breakfast and unique decor and rooms that I can only find in a B&B. My favorite place was sitting on the porch in a wicker chair overlooking the lake, watching people on the path around the lake and listening to muted live music across the lake. I stayed in all three rooms and each one was unique and delightful. As were the other guests and the doggies, which I took for walks in the evening. Thanks Carla, for a great stay!

 

 

Alexis B

Chicago, Illinois: Level  Contributor

57 reviews

28 hotel reviews

31 helpful votes

“Felt like Home, Beautiful Location”

Reviewed June 9, 2016

How is it that you can move into a place for a few days and within an hour you feel like you always lived there and there is absolutely nothing to make you feel like you don't belong? Carla has obviously mastered this art and makes it seem effortless. We've stayed in a lot of B&B's all over the world. Como Lake B&B ranks right up there with the best of them. Beautiful old home, very comfortable accommodations, terrific location, fantastic and creative breakfasts and enough hospitality to make you wish you could visit again sooner than you might be able to. Oh, and then there's Lenny (aka John Lennon) the adorable dog who will win your heart in a minute. Bravo is all we can say. This is a place not to be missed!

 

 

Bob L

Hillsborough, New Jersey: Level  Contributor

5 reviews

3 hotel reviews

2 helpful votes

“Just wonderful & relaxing ”

Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

This B&B is everything we had hoped for. The room and common areas were beautiful, breakfast delicious, and Carla was a wonderful host. We walked around Como Lake daily and even kayaked. The surrounding neighborhood was just beautiful. And Lenny the dog (the prince of Como lake) was always welcoming us home.

 

 

maggiesotos

Minneapolis, Minnesota

1 review

“Perfect!”

Reviewed May 11, 2016

My wife scheduled this as a surprise for our 2-year anniversary. It was perfect! It felt much more personalized and individual than a hotel, and more upscale and fun than an AirBnB. Plus Carla made us breakfast and it was delicious! Everything from the atmosphere, the seating area, the adorable dog that welcomed us when we came in -- it felt like the perfect fit for what we wanted on our special day.

 

We stayed in the third-floor suite and I highly recommend it -- hot tub with jets, wonderful sitting room with television, spacious bedroom with chaise lounge and fireplace, built-ins and gorgeously furnished.

 

It's an ideal location -- right on the lake with good walking paths, near the St. Paul Conservatory and Como Zoo, less than a ten minute drive from some wonderful restaurants, etc. I will recommend this place for all my friends looking for a fun getaway!

 

 

Doug N

Atlanta, Georgia: Level  Contributor

4 reviews

4 hotel reviews

2 helpful votes

“Great Experience”

Reviewed November 14, 2015

My son and I stayed at Como Lake B&B while in St. Paul to visit Macalester College, and it was quite convenient. The home overlooks Como Lake and the surrounding park, and is surrounded by gorgeous 19th century homes. Carla's kind and gracious hospitality was pervasive throughout our visit. When arriving late, she met us at the alley behind the B&B so we could park there to avoid entanglements with road paving scheduled for the next day. She took the time to walk us to our restaurant, and then engaged with us in friendly conversation when we returned from dinner. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and included (among many other things) Carla's homemade jelly. Our room was quite large and comfortable, and included a small but efficient bathroom. It was a truly splendid experience, and I plan to stay at Como Lake B&B if future travel takes me to St. Paul.

 

 

JeffKope

Ypsilanti, Michigan

2 reviews

“Super place!”

Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Carla was a great host and interesting to talk with. It was like being at home! Great old house with a view and super service! Centrally located so our visit didn't need to drive a lot. Give Lenny a scritch and he'll be you buddy for the rest of your stay.

 

Gretchen K

Level  Contributor

18 reviews

3 helpful votes

“Lovely 100+ yr old home. ”

Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Super comfortable beds and a lovely seating area for visitors. The atmosphere is so inviting, we felt like we were home with family. The house dog, Lenny, has all the best characteristics of the miniature Schnauzer and is just adorable with his stuffed pony toy. Bed & Breakfasts are so much more personal than traditional hotels.

 

janiehynson

Boston, Massachusetts

2 reviews

“Wonderful place to stay in St. Paul”

Reviewed August 29, 2015

Como Lake B&B is a delightful place to stay in the St. Paul-Minneapolis area. The B&B is a beautiful home overlooking Como Lake. Carla is a hospitable host who made us a delicious breakfast every morning during our stay. A gracious host, comfortable home, nearby attractions (parks, conservatory) and the wonderful food made our time at Como Lake B&B just great. We would definitely stay here again.

 

See more great reviews at Trip Advisor...

5 Star Rating

Lovely time at Como Lake!

5  on June 27, 2016

I just returned from the great city of St. Paul and it was made even more special by staying at Como Lake B&B. Carla, the owner, was an excellent hostess, welcoming me and preparing a lovely breakfast. My special place was sitting in a wicker chair on the front porch, watching people on the path that surrounds the lake and listening to muted music from across the lake in the evening. I stayed in all three of the rooms, each having the uniqueness only a B&B can provide. Thanks Carla,… Read more...

Wonderful week at Como Lake Bed and Breakfast!

 

5  on July 19, 2015

My experience at Como Lake Bed and Breakfast was great! Perfect location for lots of walking - around the lake, to the Conservatory or to the pavilion for evening meals and live music by the lake or to the state fairgrounds. The home is beautiful and very clean. Breakfasts were fantastic - we were very spoiled with a delicious breakfast every morning. The owner, Carla, goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at home. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast in St. Paul.

After a long day seeing everything there is to see in Como Park, settle down for the night in the picturesque bed and breakfast overlooking the lake. You won’t find a more quaint and comfortable stay in the middle of the city. The 1915 home in which the B&B is housed boasts beautiful woodwork, fireplaces, big windows facing the water and a beautiful porch on which to enjoy warm summer nights. The close proximity of the B&B to all of the aforementioned attractions means you can walk to any one of them, knowing that there is always a comfortable bed nearby.

 

Right on stunning Lake Como in St. Paul, you won’t have to sacrifice any of the seclusion you look for in this B&B in the heart of the city. Not only are there dozens of attractions nearby, including Como Zoo and Conservatory, Lake Como Pavilion which hosts music and other entertainment, but the downtowns of both major cities are just a short drive or bus ride away. The hostess will make sure you have everything you need and that your stay in beautiful Como Park is nothing short of wonderful.

 

Como B&B offers an in-town getaway

 

By Roger Bergerson on Jan. 7 2012

 

There’s a new nest high above the shore of Lake Como, but it’s not for the bald eagles or other raptors sometimes seen there.

 

Rather, the Como Lake Bed and Breakfast’s Aerie Suite is a cozy accommodation for human beings seeking a unique getaway right in the middle of the city.

 

Carla Solberg Sherman opened her B&B in early 2011 and her guests rave about the antique charm of the century-old home at 1205 W. Como Blvd., its creature comforts and hearty breakfasts.

 

“People really seem happy up here,” said Sherman, as she gave a tour of the nearly 800-square-foot, third-floor suite, which features a bedroom with a king-size bed, full bath with Jacuzzi, living room, kitchenette and library/office. Then there are all the attractions the Como area has to offer, including recreational opportunities, so Sherman has skates, skis and bicycles available for guest use.

 

Read the rest of the article...